Blonde Ambition

Getting healthy one mistake at a time

Kicking up your heels and catching up

on August 10, 2012

 

Why haven’t I posted in a few days? Simple. I’ve done nothing. Ok, maybe NOTHING is a bit over dramatic, but when it comes to anything worth talking about in a healthy living/ fitness blog… nothing. Work was a little busier than I anticipated and because of that any “grand plans” that I was getting ready to set in motion stayed still.

To catch up to speed on the August Healthy Living/ Fitness Blogger Writing Challenge here goes:

Breaking through a plateau? The only experience I can talk about with this would be a mental plateau, being excited and all revved up and then just sort of feeling meh and losing that drive. The one thing I try to do it not be too hard on myself  and get discouraged and think “well if it’s already been so long whats the point of trying again”.

Worst injury? My toes. My poor poor toes. The combination of being a little klutzy mixed with working in a pool (flip flops year round…) has proved quite lethal. I broke my big toe once, with the xrays to prove it. Then the big toe nails… things have been dropped on them and stubbed and just… my poor toes. The nails have been cracked, fallen off completely, and let me tell you when you want to try and get motivated to work out and you don’t have your entire toe nail… 10 minutes with shoes on will kill that motivation. My mom still laughs about the time we went to get a pedicure and the poor man doing my nails had to superglue the cracks shut and at one point glue my nail down on my toe. Lovely.

Body image and media? I try not to pay much attention. Don’t take life too seriously, you won’t make it out alive.

Which brings us to today… 5 weird things I like!

1. Matcha (green tea powder). I worked at Starbucks for a few years and I noticed that matcha seems to be one of those very polarizing things, people either LOVE it or think it’s the most disgusting thing they’ve ever had. A few scoops of matcha in a nice big cold cup of milk is one of my favorite drinks!

 

2. Crocheting. I am not-so-secretly an old lady at heart. For me, there are few things more relaxing than grabbing some yarn and whipping up something fun! From hats and stuffed animals to blankets and slippers… if I can find a pattern for something, I want to make it!

    

3. Ketchup on my eggs. I don’t think it’s weird but other people seem to…

 

4. Painting my nails. Anyone who has wandered over to my other blog can tell that I love to do my nails. Working at a pool doesn’t really allow for me to dress up for work that much, so my nails are the way to make things just a little fancier!

  

5. Homemade deodorant. I was searching for an aluminum free deodorant and wasn’t finding out I liked. When I realized I only needed a few ingredients to make your own I decided to give it a try and I LOVE it! It is very strange to not use an antiperspirant (especially when I work out!) and really feeling what it’s like to sweat, but it’s been a few months and I have no plans of going back!


One response to “Kicking up your heels and catching up

  1. Fancy Nancy says:

    I like ketchup on my mac and cheese!! Your nails are rockin!!!

Leave a comment